The Software I will Use

Once I move and set up my fabulous, new writing space, I then need to consider the software I will use to get the writing done.

For planning, I like to use two software packages. The first is Snowflake Pro Software. I purchased the software years ago and swear by it. Of course, you don’t have to buy the software, you can just follow the steps as set out on the linked page. I’ve done it that way too. Both methods work fine. I find using the Snowflake method gives me a clear outline so I know where the story starts and ends, as well as giving me focused details for the middle. If you have never heard of the Snowflake method of writing a novel, then you should seriously consider giving it a try.

The second piece of software I use for planning is a wiki. In all honesty, I can’t remember the name of it, but it is compact and extremely easy to use. I know it’s free and I find it useful in keeping my facts in order. Things like character profiles, setting details, research notes, links and images and anything else I need to keep track of. I hope I still have a copy of it backed up somewhere.

For writing, I also use two programs. One is a blank Word page. I will write and write and write. Filling one page after another. Once I do get into a flow, I can write for hours. But once the flow is interrupted then I find myself writing a word, a phrase, a sentence and then pausing for the longest time before I write another word, another phrase or another sentence. I’ve used Word for many years and love it, because I know what I’m doing with it.

The other software I use is yWriter. I started using this software a couple of years ago for a novel I’m writing for young readers. I don’t use the software to its full potential, but I found it helps me keep focused, and helps encourage me as stats are visible that inspire me to keep to a certain level of writing each day. I didn’t finish that novel and intend to return to it. And, yes, I will also continue to use the software.

Over the years I’ve tried other software, but I always come back to these four. I like them. They suit my needs. And that’s what’s important, isn’t it? The tools we use must be right for us. I use these tools, you might use something else, but as long as what is used helps get the writing completed, that’s all that really matters.

Having said that, it will be interesting to see if my tastes and needs have changed after such a long break. I will have to wait and see, won’t I?

Leave a Reply

