eBook Review: The Time Machine

The Time MachineThe Time Machine by H.G. Wells

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Of course I’ve seen the movies, but this is the first time I’ve read the book. The first scene was hard to get through, very technical and complicated, but hugely warranted as it gave the story substance and credibility. Not that I understood any of it.

When the travelling started, however, it became much easier to read … and, hence, more enjoyable.

And it is a great story.

I’ve always been interested in time travel and parallel travel, so this story fed that obsession well. It was interesting to note that a writer from our past could feed ideas to the reader and somehow close the gap, before going on to show us a future that was well thought out.

I enjoyed the romantic side of the story, and the cannibalistic side as well. I found it interesting to see that Wells has predicted the Earth colliding with the sun. And I found the ending of the story left me pondering what I would do if I were in the main character’s shoes. After such a narrow escape, would I go on another adventure?

I think it would be impossible not to.

Leave a Reply

