General:, My Writing:

100 Stories for Queensland

Over recent weeks, Queensland in Australia has been tortured by freak storms and heavy flooding. The destruction is reported to be affecting three quarters of the state. At present, there are 16 confirmed deaths, but this figure is expected to rise. Some towns have been devastated beyond recognition. Thousands of homes have suffered damage from total or partial emersion in the tidal waters and consequent mud, many will have to be knocked down and rebuilt. Over a million lives have been affected by the floods, not only due to flooding, but also due to the loss of power, no public transport, being cut off from the outside world due to major roads being under water, contaminated water, lack of goods (such as food) and many other things we generally take for granted.

100 Stories for Queensland is an anthology, written by writers from around the world who have donated stories to help raise money for the affected people in Queensland. The two people behind this venture are Jodi Cleghorn and Trevor Belshaw, however, from what I’ve heard, many talented people have stepped up and offered their services in getting the anthology off the ground as soon as possible.

A call has been put out for flash fiction, from 500 to 1,000 words in length. All proceeds will be donated to the Queensland Premier’s Flood Relief Appeal.

I decided that I would write a story for submission late on Friday night when an idea suddenly popped into my head. I completed the story on the same night and put it aside for a bit over 24 hours. Today, I spent a couple of hours going over the story several times, tweaking, improving, adjusting, and now I think it’s ready for submission. I will leave it for a couple of hours, at which time I’ll read it again to be sure it’s as good as I can get it, and then I’ll submit.

Whether or not my story is accepted is not the point here. The point is I heard a call and answered. I want to help. I hope you’ll want to help too.

If you are on Facebook and want to follow the progress of this charity event, go to 100 Stories for Queensland’s Facebook Page.

Leave a Reply

