A New Routine Means More Writing Time

Presently, I admit that I haven’t accepted my new job and my new life. Deep down, my mind thinks what’s happening right now is an interlude which will soon be over, at which time I’ll return to travelling and exhaustion. I know that isn’t the case and I guess acceptance will come as my confidence grows and time passes.

Now that I’ve completed the first week of “solo” work, I find myself thinking about how I want to arrange my new routine. The first week was upside down and inside out as we tried to work out what fits in where. Nothing seemed to work out well, I found myself to be unproductive and unsatisfied with what I ended up doing. G felt much the same.

Over the weekend I’ve found myself pondering how I want to structure my days. The questions I’ve been asking myself are: What worked in the last week? What didn’t work? And, what do I want to achieve in any given week? The answer to the last question is the one that really matters. I want to write on a daily basis (at least during the week). I want to continue reading on a regular basis. I want to enjoy life outdoors as much as possible, especially while the weather is good, as this is something I’ve missed out on over the last two years.

Without a doubt, I am a morning person, so I’ve decided to set my alarm for 7am. I can get up at any time I want as I don’t start work until between 2pm and 3.30pm, however, I don’t want to waste my day or my life sleeping in. Waking up at 7am will be good for me (especially as I used to get up at 5am). I’ll take my morning cup of tea into the computer room and will write for as long as the mood takes me. Some mornings I’ll have to force myself to write and I’ll be easily distracted (those days I probably won’t write much), other mornings the time will slip by unnoticed as the words fly onto the page. At first, I think it will be difficult for me to get into the rhythm of writing again as it’s something I haven’t done for a long time. I look forward to feeling my mind unwinding and the words flowing.

If I can write between 7 and 9, I’ll be happy, because that will allow several hours to do other things, such as take the dog for a walk, do chores around the house, go to the shops (which alone will be a novelty for me) or to the library, and a million other things that come to mind – things most people take for granted.

Luckily for me, I prefer to read in the afternoon or at night. It’s highly unlikely I’ll be able to fit in any reading time in those morning hours prior to going to work and I work the afternoon shift, so all my reading will need to be done in the evening. Once I know what I’m doing at work, my brain will not feel so taxed and I’ll have the energy to read so that won’t be a problem. I certainly won’t read as much as I did when I was travelling (which is the only down side now that I’m working close to home) but that shouldn’t matter. I’ll still read and I hope to continue to read all genres, all age groups and all lengths of stories (short and novel length). I’ve developed a thirst for a good book and I’ve got a long list of books to get through too so there’s no way I’m going to allow reading to take a back burner.

The new routine will start tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

