Reaching for the Future

Yesterday was the last day of the job I’ve had for almost ten years. It was a day filled with mixed emotions. I’m certainly glad the travelling (4 hours a day) is over, however, I will miss the reading time I had. I’m sad to leave behind a job I loved; working with people I respect and got on well with. I’m scared about my immediate future, but know deep down inside that I’ll do just fine.

Yesterday was also the day my book Cat’s Eyes was released. The anxiety of leaving a job mixed with the excitement of the book launch did not do me any favours. I was left feeling emotional wrought and unable to enjoy a very special event in my life, which is a huge shame. On top of that, I could not sleep due to the images continually flashing across my mind. I really do believe we should have an “off” button for such times.

Anyway, that was yesterday. Today is the beginning of a new chapter in my life. I now have an additional 40 hours a week to do with whatever I want. The thought of that will help me get through the next few days.

I look forward to writing regularly. It will be difficult, at first, to settle into a routine, but I’m determined to write every day. I will not allow myself to be overwhelmed by all I can now do…which often leads to doing nothing! I will keep my steps small to start with. I will work on a story for younger readers, that is about 45% completed. I will also “think” about the third book in The Land of Miu series. Most importantly, I will write.

I also look forward to reacquainting myself with old friends. Time restraints have not allowed me to “mingle” over the past 20 months or so. I feel as if I’m alone in this big world of writers, whereas there was a time when I felt surrounded by good friends, helpful and insightful people. I intend to be rid of that loneliness over coming days and weeks. I will be visiting friend’s websites more often and keeping up with their news. I will also be looking for new friends too.

*raise your glasses* To the future. May it be a good one for all of us.

Leave a Reply

