Podcast Review: Shadow Hunter Trilogy

I’m a bit behind with my reviews as I’ve had other things on my mind, but more about that in another post later.

Oh, where do I start? I think I’ll tell you about the podcast sequels to Shadow Hunter by Terrence D McLean. The second book in the trilogy is called Chasing Shadows and the third book is Shadows Fall.

I remember when Terry started out with podcasting, about three or so years ago. Those first few episodes betrayed his nerves even though he desperately tried to hide it. But our voice is not easily controlled and I heard the nerves. I admired his courage because I do not believe I would have been able to even start a podcast, let alone to start and conquer the thing that makes us nervous and then go on and record three books. In fact, I know I wouldn’t be able to achieve this accomplishment, so a sincere “well done” must be sent through the airwaves to Terry. And as each episode was published, I knew he was feeling more confident and long before the end of the first book all thoughts of whether or not he was nervous were completely gone. In the second book he introduced guest readers, who adopted particular points of view to read, which gave a new dimension to the characters.

The Shadow Hunter trilogy is pure fantasy. If you love magic, demons, mystical objects and other worlds then you’re in for a treat. The world is fully developed and totally believable. As I listened to Terry tell his story, I had vivid images playing out in my mind. The characters are likeable, flaws and all. Even the ones we are not supposed to like, play their parts extremely well. The scenes are captivating for many reasons. They were fast paced, drawing me from one catastrophe to the next. One scene would have me listening to strong battles where my heart beat would speed up a little and the next scene might bring tears to my eyes (literally) because of the emotion contained in the story, which was beautifully conveyed by Terry.

I listened to all three books, one after the other, which meant I was listening to the story of Shalli and her world for several weeks. When the podcasts came to an end, I actually felt sad. It was over and I don’t think I was quite ready for the end. A friend told me that he had just finished watching a TV series. He said that he felt like a good friend was leaving forever, which left him feeling sad and quiet. I understood what he meant because I had just finished listening to the Shadow Hunter trilogy and I felt exactly like that.

Shadow Hunter by Terrence D McLean, and its sequels, are recommended. You can find the podcasts, completely free, at iTunes. Go listen to them and then go to Terry’s website and encourage him to write something new for us to listen to.

Leave a Reply

