Podcast Review: Shadow Hunter

In October 2006 I wrote my first post on podcasts, it was called Introduction to Podcasts. I started listening to Shadow Hunter then. I listened to about 16 episodes and then, for a reason I can’t clearly remember, I stopped. I think it had a lot to do with changing service providers and having a lot less download megabytes available to me.

Anyway, four years later, I rediscovered podcasts through my iPod Touch. Suddenly a whole new world opened to me. I didn’t have to suffer eye strain as I read books VERY early in the morning on the train. I could see back, relax and listen to someone tell me a story. It’s absolutely brilliant.

It’s not surprising that this revelation sent me back to Terrence McLean’s website to find out if I could listen to Shadow Hunter in this new (for me) way. I was happy to discover I could.

Luckily for me, there was a recap episode which brought the characters and setting back to my mind and memory. Then I listened to four or five episodes that I had previously heard and then I went on to listen to the rest of the story.

Shadow Hunter is pure fantasy. There’s magic, necromancers, battles and a cast of complex characters. The author and reader, Terry, does a fine job keeping the listener interested. The story is fast paced and always kept me guessing what would happen next.

I have already listened to half of the next serialised podcast by Terry, which is called Buried in the Sand. I will review it upon completion. And there are two other books by Terry loaded on my iPod, waiting their turn.

Podcast books, audio books, ebooks and traditional paperbacks. There are so many forms of reading that we cannot possibly ever get bored again. If you haven’t tried a podcast book, try it. You’ll enjoy it.

Get Shadow Hunter and Terry’s other books through iTunes or the Never Was Website.

Leave a Reply

