Kayelle Press

Over the years I’ve said many things, believed (wholeheartedly) other things, and changed my mind countless times. I’m not ashamed of this, because it’s life and it’s all about freedom of choice and making decisions with the information available to us at the time.

Publishing my own books has been a controversial topic during this time. It’s something I was dead against. It’s something that I would not entertain, not in the slightest. Why? I believed getting published the traditional way was the ONLY way. It’s that simple!

But that was then, when technology wasn’t as advanced as it is today. That was when the internet was still foreign ground to many, including me. Now, things are different. Times have changed. I have changed. Getting published the traditional way isn’t as important to me. Yes, it would be nice. It would be validating in a way that I cannot imagine. Yet when I ponder this thought, I think that is the only reason I’ve been set against publishing myself. I wanted an editor of a huge (I don’t mean a big, I mean HUGE) publishing house to tell me that I am worthy. It’s not going to happen.

You might read that and think I have no confidence in my ability…and sometimes that is true. But the main reason I don’t think it’s going to happen is because the big, and the huge, publishing houses are going to feel pressured by a more direct media – the power of the internet – and this will bring about even more changes in the publishing industry.

Don’t get me wrong. Those big publishers will still do fine because they will continue to publish the big names. But where does that leave the new and up-and-coming authors? How will they (we) ever get recognised?

There are so many options available. It’s a shame to sit back and continue to dream the impossible dream. With this in mind, I’ve decided to take control of my writing life and take a chance in life. As of 1 September 2010, I have an official, registered business name and I will publish my own books. When I’ve learned the ropes, I may even venture into publishing other people’s books too. (That will be decided at a later date, although I do already have an idea swirling around my busy mind.) It will be hard work. It will be stressful at times. And it will also be rewarding as I see my small press grow from the efforts and sweat I am willing to put into it.

I’m pleased to announce the official website of Kayelle Press (pronounced K L without a pause). The website is less than a day old and is currently in the early stages of being built. However, if you enter your email address you will be one of the first to receive an official notification when the website is launched.

Leave a Reply

