My Writing:, Personal

Decision Time, My Week in a Nutshell

The decision has been made. I will be setting myself up as a sole trader and starting a small business. This week has seen me deep within the pages of a number of websites – researching – thanks to the help of horror writer, Alan Baxter. (Thanks, Alan.)

This time last week I knew nothing about business. Today, I have a general understanding of what will be expected of me. Tomorrow (read that as “sometime in the near future”) I’ll be walking the walk and talking the talk. It’s an exciting but scary thought.

My game plan is to do it right! I’m not going to rush into things. I’m going to take on the “slow and steady wins the race” attitude. I’ve been brainstorming business names and have settled, tentatively, on a name. I have searched the necessary databases to find out if anyone else has registered the name; they haven’t. I have done a search on the internet to see if a website exists using that name; it doesn’t. I have researched obtaining ISBN numbers, library catalogue numbers, tax requirements, proper copyright notices, State library requirements, small business accounting needs and much more. Once I had a better understanding how everything worked, the decision became a lot easier to make.

All further plans have been put on hold until I have a business name registered and an ABN number approved. Once that happens, I’ll set up a trading account and the accounting software and then I can move forward with getting my books published.

I can see it all clearly in my mind…where I’m heading and where I want to be. Did I mention this is exciting and scary at the same time? Well, it is. This is the biggest step I’ve taken on my writing journey to date. This is the step that will announce “I’m serious!”

2 thoughts on “Decision Time, My Week in a Nutshell”

Leave a Reply

