eBook Review: Witch on the Water

Witch on the Water (Rowan of the Wood, #2)

Witch on the Water by Christine Rose

My rating: 2.5 of 5 stars
Witch on the Water ( Amazon / Smashwords ) is the sequel to Rowan of the Wood ( Amazon / Smashwords ). I enjoyed the first book quite a bit, although I don’t think it’s suitable for the younger audience it’s intended for. The second book doesn’t have the sexual innuendo so is more suitable for that particular audience.

However, this book wasn’t as strong as the first. It was good, but not as riveting and the pace was much slower. There were some really interesting scenes and topics covered, but generally speaking the characters felt uncommitted to the storyline and this affected the overall reading experience for me. I especially found Cullen’s moodiness irritating. The biggest letdown was the climax, which sort of fizzled out and felt like a carbon copy of the first book. It should have been much bigger, stronger, getting the adrenaline going and leaving the reader eager for the next book, but that’s not what happened.

In truth, I have little else to say, which is unusual for me. I don’t think I’ll bother with any more books in this series.

Leave a Reply

