Characterisation, Writing:

Character Development, Using the Voice Journal Writing Technique

Deborah Woehr recently wrote a post on Character Development, Using the Voice Journal Writing Technique.  The technique is a simple exercise but I feel it would open the doors for the author to see more than they, at first, could imagine.

I haven’t actually tried the technique yet, but I intend to give it a try later today.  However, I have found myself thinking about some of the characters in a “journal” way instead of a “profile” way.  Already, things about the characters are coming through that I didn’t intend to include, didn’t even consider including in their profile.  I believe the reason for this is that when writing a journal type entry on a character, you need access to more information in order to bring them alive on the page.  And…isn’t that exactly what all writers need for all their characters?!  Of course it is.

Thank you, Deborah, for sharing your experience with your readers; I think you’ve given me a very useful tool.  😀

I’ll let you know how I go.

3 thoughts on “Character Development, Using the Voice Journal Writing Technique”

Leave a Reply

