Whispering Caves: One-Sentence Summary Revised

As noted in Whispering Caves: Planning a Novel I had a one-sentence summary that I wasn’t 100% happy with. This morning I’ve been physically working on the plan and have a revised sentence.

Transported to a forgotten world, a neglected, modern-day teenager must cope with being the centre of attention as she battles to find a way home.

The above isn’t that different to the first one I had, but it feels more complete and I’m much happier with it.

In other news, I have draft profiles for three of the four main characters. Two of the characters were quite easy to write, but the third one offered some difficulties for me to overcome. I couldn’t work out his epiphany, but with a short discussion with my partner the problem with quickly resolved (I was looking at the character’s situation from the wrong angle). That character’s motivations have changed as a result, which means he’s going to be a different person to what I had imagined. It will be interesting to get to know him.

Anyway, that’s my morning writing session come to a close. I have some things I have to do now, but I intend to have another writing session this afternoon. I’m already looking forward to it. šŸ˜€

3 thoughts on “Whispering Caves: One-Sentence Summary Revised

  1. Can I make a suggestion? I don’t think “modern-day” works very well. What about:

    Transported to a forgotten world, a neglected, 21st century teenager must cope with being the centre of attention as she battles to find a way home.

  2. Alan, suggestions are always welcome here and your suggestion is a good one. It still captures what I want to say, but it is better than what I had for a reason I can’t reveal – except to say that it ties certain elements of the story together. I should have thought of it myself but I’ve been working on it for too long and have become somewhat “blinkered”, so I thank you sincerely for taking the time to make the suggestion. {{hugs}}

Leave a Reply

