Attempting to Take My Life Back with a Goal

Over recent days I’ve been reading a reference book called Writing Fiction for Dummies. When I purchased the book, I was mainly looking for inspiration even though I know I’m a bit passed the “dummy” stage. It seems my impulse has proven to be correct and I am feeling the urge to write stir within me.

Now, before I move on I want to explain that the lack of the urge to write has nothing to do with writer’s block (which I don’t believe in anyway), burn out or not wanting to write. It is completely due to exhaustion from the long hours I am forced to endure. I worked it out that 14 hours of my day is used up in travelling and working and 7 hours is for much needed sleep, which leaves me 3 hours to do everything else – including chores, eating, spending time with my family…and writing. Often, all I feel like doing in that time is sitting like a brain-dead vegetable in front of the TV because I simply don’t have the energy to do anything else. Yes, I could do some writing during the travel time, but at the moment…in the morning, I’m just too tired; and in the afternoon, I read but I’m thinking of changing my routine in coming weeks.

Anyway, let me stop whining and get back on track. I purchased the reference book with the hope of finding inspiration. I knew a lot of the information would already be well known to me, but I was hoping for quick and easy tips to help me get stuck into the planning of Whispering Caves.

Luckily for me the book is co-authored by the snowflake guy (you can find a link to his website at the bottom of this page). And, I recently purchased a copy of Snowflake Pro (the software for the snowflake method of writing a novel). I use the snowflake method all the time, so any tips are always welcomed and I’m finding them in the book.

I feel inspired!

The question is, what am I going to do about it? I cannot write in the morning. The conditions are perfect for writing – it’s always quiet on the train at that early hour, it’s not as crowded either, but I feel so tired that my eyes water, I can’t concentrate and my sight goes blurry because I want to close them and not think. Writing in the morning is not an option. Writing when I get home from work is not an option either – there’s not enough time and my family deserve some of my time. I’ll just have to learn to write in the noisy afternoon crowd instead. There’s nothing else for me to do.

This weekend, I will install Snowflake Pro on my mini-laptop. Starting next Monday, I will trial writing on the train in the afternoon and see how it goes. As the train is really crowded for the first half hour, I’ll read during that time and then I’ll bring out the laptop and write for the rest of the trip.

There, I’ve set a public goal. Now I just have to wait and see what happens from that decision. I will, of course, let you know.

2 thoughts on “Attempting to Take My Life Back with a Goal

  1. I do write/plan on the weekend, but not enough to feel as if I’m getting anywhere. Also, I often suffer with a case of wanting to do so much, but ending up doing nothing.

    The weekend is too short!

Leave a Reply

