Book Reviews

Book Review: Assassin’s Quest

Assassin's Quest (The Farseer Trilogy, #3)

Assassin’s Quest by Robin Hobb

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Assassin’s Quest (The Farseer Trilogy, Book 3) was, for me, excellent yet disappointing. It seems strange to put those two words together, as they contradict one another, but not to use both words would not be telling the whole truth. Let me try to explain, without giving anything important away.

At the end of the second book, Fitz was left for dead. Buck Castle was being plundered by the new king. Loyal followers of the real king were doing what they could to preserve life while the Red Ships continued to forge the citizens of the Six Duchies. Life as everyone knew it was no more.

As a whole, this trilogy was rich and complex. The characters were deep and riveting. I sit and ponder how the author planned this story and am filled with awe at the task she completed. I admire the strength of words, the surprising twists and turns and the excellent reasons for why everything happens. I cannot fault any of these things.

My only real complaints are that Assassin’s Quest was over 700 pages long and I felt as if I was being dragged through a number of those pages unwillingly. The story dragged on and on in the middle, when I would have thought a crisp pace would have been the better option. I began to loose the connection I had with the characters as each new round of “beating” presented itself. My second complaint is that the ending left me feeling disappointed. To go through all that and then for that ending to be laid out before me was not what I had wanted or hoped for. As I mentioned before, I cannot fault the reasoning for the ending as it all made perfect sense, but it wasn’t what I wanted for the main character. It just seemed so unfair, almost like a punishment.

Although I have not raved about this last book in the trilogy, I would recommend it to anyone who really enjoys reading fantasy. I am not sorry I read the book or the trilogy and I certainly will include the trilogy as a whole on my favourites list.

I have the Liveship Traders Trilogy on my bookshelf, but I believe The Tawny Man Trilogy takes up Fitz’ story fifteen years later and I would really like to get a copy of those three books, which shows that I am more than willing to read more by this author.

Leave a Reply

