General:, Personal

Scribe's Writing Desk to Change Direction

Recently, I announced that I am shutting down Scribe’s Message Board. That closure will occur on Monday, 31 August 2009. The reason for the closure is mainly because I’m “all posted out”. Over the last eight years, I have talked about every aspect of writing. I doubt I wrote about every aspect of the publishing industry too, but I can’t write about something I haven’t experienced. It seems wrong somehow.

Anyway, that “all posted out” feeling extends to this website too. Sometimes I feel as if I’ve said everything there is for me to say, leaving little else to prattle on about. Yet I don’t feel ready to throw this site away (meaning I don’t want to delete it). So I’ve been thinking about the direction this website will take from here and I’ve decided to go back on something I said once before regarding personal posts.

There was a time when I was experiencing “attacks” through this website. Mostly the attacks were from people who disagreed with what I had written about and, in their (lack of) wisdom, they decided being nasty would force me to change my mind. Well, what can I say, being nasty never forces anyone to do anything, in fact, it will make them dig in their heels even more…it certainly doesn’t encourage the other person to listen to what is being said – those attacks were promptly deleted. However, some attacks were much worse…! I’ll say no more about those ones.

Yet, this is my web space and I think it’s up to me what appears here. If a visitor doesn’t like what they see or read, then they are free to leave and never return. With this in mind, I think I’ll expand into different topics – things that interest me, things I can write about. I will still give writing updates, but I think regular visitors will see an improvement in their quality as, at the moment, I feel I have a habit of droning on and on due to not having anything else to say.

I might even change the title of the site. It seems only fitting because it won’t technically be a writing desk anymore. I’ll give this a bit more thought, but feel free to offer suggestions if anything instantly comes to mind when you read this.

3 thoughts on “Scribe's Writing Desk to Change Direction”

  1. Karen, I’m sorry to hear about Scribe’s closing down–it was a going concern for quite a while and certainly a lot of good came out of it for a lot of people, myself included. However, I do understand that feeling of being “all posted out.” Glad you’re keeping this site. And yes, in our own little corners of cyberspace, we should be able to say whatever’s on our minds without reprisals. As you say, if you don’t like what’s here, don’t read it! 😉

Leave a Reply

