Scribe's Message Board to Close Down

Scribe’s Message Board was originally created at the end of 2001, at another location to where it is now. There were three regular members (including myself) and a couple of dozen people who came and went over the better part of the first year. Back then, I knew virtually nothing about the craft of writing, let alone the publishing industry. The two other regular members were two people using the names of Jamie Lauren and Noname. Both these people inspired me like I could never believe possible and I will always be grateful to both of them.

For no other reason than the board provider suddenly taking it upon himself to place large, ugly advertising at the top of each board (so large, in fact, that a visitor wouldn’t have known a message board was below the ads)…I decided to move the board. After a long, gruelling search I found Akheva, which was only in its infancy having been open to the public for only four weeks. On 8 February 2003 the new Scribe’s Message Board came into existence. Later, the owner of Akheva changed its name to Runboard.

Scribe’s has been one of the longest running boards at Runboard. We have seen over 650 members come through the door and over 73,000 posts in the last six and a half years. I think that’s a huge achievement alone. Yet, I believe Scribe’s has done a lot more than that.

I have been a part of discussions that have covered every possible issue of the writing and publishing world. I have seen many newcomers to writing grow through those discussions, this includes myself. I have made online writing friends who will remain friends well into the future. And I have seen writers become published authors.

I’ve been very proud of what has been achieved, what has been learned and taught, of the friendships formed. Of course, none of this was purely my doing. I set the scene, but it was the participating members (past and present) who made all of it happen. I sincerely thank each and every one of them. And I give special thanks to all the board members who put their hands up and became moderators too. At times, their job was all consuming and their efforts did not go unnoticed by me.

Nothing is permanent.
– Buddha

After almost eight years, it is time to shut down Scribe’s. For those of you who have known me for a while, this will not come as a surprise. I am all posted out and I now feel the board has, unfortunately, become a liability to me. Over recent months, activity has come almost to a stand still. No one seems eager to participate in challenges any more. And the regulars are left with little to say now that new members are far and few between.

It’s time for me and the other board members to move on to greener pastures so I am officially announcing the closure of the board. The last day will be Monday 31 August 2009. I wish everyone the very best for the future and I hope that our paths will cross at some time, somewhere. Until then, I give heartfelt thanks for everything you have done to make Scribe’s a success.

2 thoughts on “Scribe's Message Board to Close Down

  1. I agree. It’s going to be sad when the doors close for good, but I think it’s time and that’s what I will remind myself when I lock those doors at the end of the month.

Leave a Reply

