WordPress Updated & Plugins Added

During the past week I’ve been messing with the internal works of this website. WordPress has been upgraded to the latest version (2.8), all the plugins have been upgraded and new plugins have been added – including Not Another Related Posts Plugin and Link Checker Plugin.

After seeing CommentLuv on Benjamin Solah’s Website, I thought I’d install it here too. If you leave a comment and enable the plugin, a link to the last post on your own blog will be included at the end of your comment. I think, however, that you have to register your blog with CommentLuv for this to work.

Last night, I spent an hour or so changing another aspect of the blog. I got rid of the html front page found at “Home” and used WordPress to create a static front page. It was quite easy to do, despite my worry that I might crash the whole site permanently. The result was that I had exactly the same home page that I’ve always had, but it meant that I could edit it with ease (without having to wait until I had access to a text editor and ftp uploader). However…it also meant that I no longer had access to what I consider to be the main part of the website – the blog. This page, as you see it now, was no longer available. To reach the posts it would have been essential to have the categories listed in the sidebar and I believe I would have had to include another new plugin to show the latest posts as well. I didn’t like it. Not in the slightest. And…everything has been put back to how it was originally. 😀

The two previous posts announcing some of the things I’ve mentioned in this post have been deleted. I think I’ve finished messing around with things now, except I’ve discovered (through the Link Checker Plugin) that I have a lot of images that are “broken”, as well as some external links that need checking. I’ll get on to that shortly.

3 thoughts on “WordPress Updated & Plugins Added

  1. I’ve been waiting for my webhost to upgrade WP in their Fantastico system so that I can upgrade with the press of a button. They’re still using 2.6. 😦 I’m glad to hear that you’re enjoying 2.8 overall.
    .-= Deborah Woehr´s last blog ..Writing to Heal =-.

Leave a Reply

