Falling into the Cracks

Since moving it seems I’ve falling into the cracks and I don’t have much to do with people anymore, especially on the internet; but also in real life. I imagine the people I once had a lot to do with are saying “well, she moved away from the area so what does she expect?” and I accept that. However, instead of moving out of the area, I feel as if I’ve moved out of the country. Or maybe even to another planet!

In my own defence I think it’s important to remember that I am rudely awoken at 5am on work days (which is five days a week for me). I leave the house at twenty to six and I don’t get home again until 7pm. I eat, try to stay awake until 10pm then go to bed. It’s a long, tiring day…week, to say the least. Luckily for me my two favourite pastimes are reading and writing, because I can do both of these on the train. If I couldn’t I wouldn’t be able to do either as there’s just no time in the evenings (besides, I’m too tired) and the weekends are filled with other things – family things, mostly. So I’m counting my blessings where that’s concerned.

Last night, someone said to me that getting the internet would be pointless (for me). I wouldn’t have the energy to go online during the week and, again, the weekends are full (although some internet activity on my part would most definitely occur). I understood what was being said and agreed in the most part.

I do have internet access from work, but…my workload must take priority. Pains me to say that, but I really do need the job. Some days, and that is most days at the moment, all I do is check my email and quickly update my reading progress on Goodreads. I don’t have time to browse sites and make comments, write posts or even do any research. I write the posts for my own site whilst waiting for reports to print or the scanner to do its thing then I quickly come online post it and shutdown again.

It may seem that I’ve turned my back on people, but that isn’t the case in the slightest. All that is happening is that I’m trying to learn to deal with a new set of rules and routines. I do visit sites I’ve always frequented and read the last couple of posts when I can, but I just don’t have the time to leave a comment.

2 thoughts on “Falling into the Cracks

  1. That kind of workload would kill me. So are you not getting the internet connected?

    I understand with the not having time thing. It’s making me see that I’m in a pretty unique and fortunate position to have my boss in Sydney so I can do what I like at work – web filters permitting 😉

  2. Because we’ve just bought a house we don’t want to stretch finances too far so we are holding off until we know how the repayments fit in with our lifestyle…and see if there’s “luxury money” left over. I’m just being cautious.

    Arr, while the cat’s away, the mice will play. Of course, I’m a daring mouse because I play regarding…as I know you do too. 😀

Leave a Reply

