1. The Land of Miu, My Writing:

The Package

What can I say about the package? I knew no good could come from it as soon as I saw it. Sitting there on the coffee table, gleaming smugly in the dim light, I knew straight away that this was a package that I wanted no dealings with, even if it did strongly call my name.

I tried to ignore it. I really did. Outwardly, I only just succeeded, but inwardly I was already a quivering mess. Going about my evening chores, my mind was possessed by the evilness trapped within the confines of the package. Would I be a willing partner in crime and let it out? Or would I make it suffer for all eternity? Because only if the package was opened could it reap its nastiness.

The pull was too strong and I succumbed to the pressure. I even tried to convince myself that I was wrong. But in truth, May has always been a bad month for me – for many, many years – so why would May of 2009 be any different? I guess I hoped that the cycle would be broken in the Year of Change.

But no. Cat’s Eyes has been rejected by Random House. But the news isn’t all bad. Buried in the evilness were words that I must believe were meant to lift my spirits so that I can survive this thing called Being a Writer.

Those words were: “…while I think your writing is of a high standard and the story would appeal to young girls, I didn’t feel that it was quite strong enough to stand alone on our list.”

My writing is of a high standard and the story would appeal to young girls. Those are the words that will encourage me to do more than throw the manuscript into a dark corner and forget it.

In my heart, after spending some time at the Kids at Random House website, I had already determined that my story did not fit their list so I am not surprised by the contents of the package in the slightest. Of course, I would have preferred to discover a wad of legal documents, such as contracts to be signed, but that will have to wait for another day.

The next step is to find a publisher where my story will fit snugly on their list.

3 thoughts on “The Package”

  1. I agree with Ben. It’s definitely better than a one-line rejection on a postcard, 1.5 years after you sent in the manuscript. 🙂 Keep trying, Karen. Somebody will pick it up.

Leave a Reply

