The One, My New Friend

It has become apparent that now that I’m a commuter my writing time is suffering. In fact, I know that unless I take steps to change my situation I will not write again. Sounds dramatic, doesn’t it? Well, I might have gone a bit over-the-top with that last bit, but I can safely say that I will rarely write again!

My life has changed. My routine has changed. I now spend several hours a day travelling and when I get home I’m too tired to write.

This leaves Friday night, Saturday and Sunday. I already know that Friday night (in the past, one of my best writing times) will be no different to any other work day – the only difference is that I’ll be nodding off at the computer instead of in front of the TV, so that’s out of the question. Sunday night I’ll be heading off to bed early as I have to get up very early the next morning, but I might be able to squeeze in an hour or so during the day/evening. This leaves only Saturday as a real possibility. But what about my family? They deserve some of my time now that I’m away from home for an extended period during the week.

As I said at the beginning of this post, unless I take steps to change my situation my writing is going to suffer in a big way. Between family, work, travel and sleep when can I write?

Luckily, I have an answer to the problem and I am taking steps to rectify the situation. On Monday, I’m going to buy myself a mini-laptop (I see they are more commonly known as “netbooks”). I’ve been looking at an Acer Aspire One (I don’t really care what colour I end up with but blue is a favourite colour of mine). I already own a “normal” sized Acer laptop and it’s been great so buying a mini version doesn’t feel risky to me. The Aspire One is compact with an 8.9” screen and it weighs less than a kilo (although you can get a slightly larger size too), but the keyboard is a manageable size which is important. It doesn’t have CD drives or anything fancy like that, but that isn’t a problem for me. As long as I can get my writing files on it, and possibly my family tree, then I’ll be “happy as Larry”.

With “The One” my writing time will improve dramatically. In fact, it will be better than ever as I will have no distractions for a very long train trip as there will be no internet and I’ll be forced to sit and continue typing as I’ve got nowhere else to go. The mornings (on the train) are virtually people free and I envision a good hour and a half dedicated writing time, five days a week. That’s seven and a half hours a week. Woohoo! The trip home will be dedicated to reading. So this means I will write more and I will read more. What can possibly be better than that?

Roll on Monday!

3 thoughts on “The One, My New Friend

  1. If it wasn’t for the 8 hours of working in between those train rides I’d be jealous! 🙂

    Enjoy all that time for writing and reading.

Leave a Reply

