Personal

Carving a New Routine

I’m back from oblivion, or so it feels! The move went well and we are mostly unpacked, except for the four huge boxes of books I have nowhere to showcase so they will remain in boxes for now.

The first week was filled with heavy lifting and moving … well, everything out of one house and into another! We had young helpers and I have to give them lots of hugs and kisses (again) because they certainly took the load of us, but we were still exhausted. I didn’t get more than a few hours of sleep in that first week because of the strange surroundings and the complete lack of noise. I never realised how much noise there is in a city, but now I live in the country and it’s so quiet…all the time. Bliss!

The second week we must have felt more at home because we started sleeping well. In fact, we couldn’t stop sleeping. I haven’t enjoyed 9 to 10 hours solid sleep (every night) for such a long time that my body just craved more and more of it until I literally was sleeping 12 hours a night. Again, bliss!

But, along with the good comes the bad. I had to return to work and start commuting. Never mind. I’ve already finished one book (a review will appear shortly) and I guess I’ll be reading a lot more over coming months, so maybe the four boxes of books I mentioned at the beginning of this post will disappear afterall. 😀

Being without a phone or the internet is not nice. Having moved away from family and friends, and because we had not communications available to us, we felt a bit isolated for a while. But…we have a phone connection now (but not internet still) so that is no longer the case and we are presently trying to carve new routines out for ourselves.

4 thoughts on “Carving a New Routine”

  1. Glad to have you back! It felt a bit weird for me too, you being gone.

    Glad the move went well but the no communication would’ve killed me, but the quiet sounds nice.

    And congrats on the reading 🙂 I’m very jealous.

  2. Welcome back, Karen! 🙂 I hope you’ll get your Internet soon. Having relied on that luxury for years now, I would begin to experience withdrawal symptoms after a week. It sounds like you’re enjoying your new house.

Leave a Reply

