Good Reads

Following Benjamin Solah’s example, I’ve spent some time this evening updating my Goodreads account to reflect some of the books I’ve read in the last couple of years. I will continue to add books as time permits, but for now I have laid the foundations for my reading future. 😀

As you may know, with the upcoming move comes the opportunity to do some serious reading this year. To be totally honest, I am extremely happy about this and I’m looking forward to getting stuck into my first book – Seaborn by Chris Howard. After that, I have boxes full of books to get through so I will be spoiled for choice…to say the least.

As you may have noticed, I’ve updated the right hand sidebar. The book I’m currently reading (or planning to read) will be shown in the same fashion as always. However, I’ve added a Goodreads widget that automatically updates as I change the status of books from “currently reading” to “read”. If you hover over a book cover you’ll see some extra details about the book, including my rating. Cool, isn’t it?!

Edit: Above, I said that the format for the book I’m currently reading will remain unchanged, but I’ve changed my mind. If I’m going to use Goodreads to showcase my bookcase I may as well do it properly. In the long term it will save me time, so I have added a second widget for “currently reading”. I’ve manipulated the code to the best of my ability, but unfortunately I’m unable to get rid of the white space between the cover and the text without the entire box shrinking. Never mind.

One thought on “Good Reads

Leave a Reply

