Books & Movies, Mirror Image, My Writing:, Personal

New Beginnings

You may have noticed that I haven’t been posting much lately. There is a reason for that and I’ll tell you what it is later in the post.

Firstly, here’s a quick update on my writing. I have been rewriting that character’s storyline that I’m mentioned continually for the better part of this year. The rewrite is going quite well and I’m pleased that I persevered and made the changes. It has made a huge difference to the overall storyline and brings everything back inline with what I originally planned. I’m roughly half way through, yet I will have to work my way through the other character’s storylines again and fix up the way they perceive this “new” character. I don’t see that as being a problem.

Secondly, an update on my reading…or lack of. Seaborn by Chris Howard has been in the sidebar for some time now. Actually, I think I placed it there before Christmas or maybe it was just after, I can’t remember. I read the first two chapters or so and then put the book aside because of “the reason I haven’t been posting”. I envision I’ll start reading again as from 20 April. Yes, I can be that specific!

Now, the reason I haven’t been posting is because I’m moving. This move is not just around the corner, so it’s no small thing. And…now that the children have left home, we have so much unneeded furniture that we had to get rid of. Not to mention the mountains of books! Most of the books ended up being donated to charity, but I gave a lot away too. Yes, I know I could have listed them on ebay or taken them to a second hand bookshop, but my experience with ebay is that I pay more in fees than what I make from selling them, so what’s the point, and we don’t have a second hand bookshop in my area anymore. Besides, I really couldn’t be bothered with taking photos and uploading them and then, if I were lucky enough to sell the books, cart them to the post office. Dropping them off at the charity store was far easier.

Then there is the packing. Honestly, I feel exhausted and I’m surprised I’m even doing the rewrite. Anyway, we move on 4 April and I return to work on 20 April, which is why I know the exact date I’ll return to reading. I’ll be commuting, so I’ll have lots of time to read Seaborn and then all the books I didn’t get rid of – only four huge boxes full!

5 thoughts on “New Beginnings”

  1. Best of luck with the move. I’ve done it myself a little bit over the last two years, July 07, July 08 and December 08!

    Oh and I bet you’re kind of looking forward to the commuting time for reading.

  2. The last time I moved (3 yrs ago), I threw out 13 years of accumulated stuff. That actually felt liberating. Unpacking was another story, lol. Hope the move goes smoothly for you.

  3. Good news on rewriting and working in the “new” character, and good luck with the move–blog anything crazy that happens because something always does! Our last one in 2002 brought us to the opposite coast, California to New Hampshire, and in the middle–towing the second car, I almost took out a gas station in Iowa City.

  4. As I was eating breakfast this morning, I worked out that I’ve moved 18 times in the last 30 years (that’s just my adult life, so it doesn’t include the times I moved with my parents). That figure seems outrageous. We’ve been in the current house for almost six and a half years and the house before that was five years, so do the figures and that means I barely stayed in one place for more than a year! But…it also means I’m an old hat at moving! 🙂

    We are going from a five bedroom house into a two bedroom house, so we are going to notice the difference. Hence, the need to get rid of all that excess furniture.

    And, yes, I am looking forward to having proper reading periods. I’ll probably get through a lot of books this year. Yay!

Leave a Reply

