Mirror Image, My Writing:

An Economic Downturn Plus

Due to the economic downturn I’ve found myself with less to do during work hours. For the first few days this week I turned my mind to all those rotten jobs – the ones marked “too hard” or just “too bloody boring”. Of course, the jobs deemed too hard never are. They are usually just fiddly or time consuming, but once you get into them they are soon finalised and put away forever. The “too bloody boring” jobs were a different matter. They had to be done, so I forced myself to get stuck into them, but it was difficult to stay awake long enough to see the work over with. I couldn’t believe how fidgety I got and how heavy my eyelids became. However, I did survive the boredom and finished them too. This done, it meant I was left staring at the four walls…and the time dragged like you wouldn’t believe. How I hate that!

I don’t usually write during work hours. There’s too many distractions and I can’t concentrate (yes, I tried it many years ago, but quickly gave it away). However, out of extreme boredom, I decided to revise my habits until the work picks up again.

As you know, I recently finished recreating a character who has a major part in Mirror Image, but she isn’t the main character. Early this morning, I emailed that character’s scenes to myself and when I had finished everything I had at work, I opened the file. Now, remembering the new storyline and character traits, I must edit her scenes. I don’t expect it to be easy, but the end result will be worth the…pain, frustration, time. So far the edit is working out fine, but I haven’t got to the really juicy parts which is where I know whole sections will have to be deleted and rewritten.

Then, of course, I’ll have to go through the rest of the manuscript and fix up everyone else’s perception of this character. I think I’m dreading that more than the scene edit. But it has to be done and once I get that far, I’ll be close to the finish line so I’m hoping that will spur me on.

3 thoughts on “An Economic Downturn Plus”

  1. I’m getting things done, but I still find it difficult to concentrate and I certainly can’t do much at a time. But those little bits all add up at the end of the day though, so I’m not complaining.

Leave a Reply

