1. The Land of Miu, Marlinor Archives, Mirror Image

Mirrors, Cat's and Caves

It’s strange when I think back and acknowledge my decision to walk away from writing at the end of last year. It feels like I was a different person then…and I probably was, for many reasons (none of which I’ll go into now). The transformation between then and now is incredible. More importantly, I’m excited by the way my mind is working overtime where writing is concerned.

Having always been a One Manuscript Woman, I’m suddenly having the time of my life with three writing projects at once. I don’t know if this new found method will last for long, it never has in the past, so I’m making the most of it while I can.

Anyway, the three projects are:

1. Mirror Image. You know the one I mean – the one where I keep reporting “I’ve only got 10,000 words to go”. I’m writing about 5,000 words a fortnight since I first said that and I’m still going. I am, however, in the last hours of the story, so I’m making solid progress.

2. Cat’s Eyes. I finished this manuscript a long time ago, but had reservations about its length. Those concerns no longer exist, so I am currently drafting a query letter. Admittedly, I’ve written the letter several times, but so far I’m still not happy with the results. But it’s getting closer and I won’t stop redrafting that letter until I feel it’s perfect!

3. Marlinor. This is an old project revisited. I’ve decided to scrap the entire thing and start again. I love the characters and the story itself, but there are some serious problems that need fixing. I’m currently rebuilding the history and recreating the world…and everything is falling into place extremely well. This project is a trilogy, but I can see a prequel happening too! (I’ve created a new category called “Marlinor Trilogy”; everything mentioned prior to today has been archived in “Marlinor Archives”.)

At the moment, my writing routine consists of me writing for Mirror Image Friday to Sunday, with a bit of query letter writing thrown in now and again. Monday to Thursday sees me doing research when I have time and, again, working on that query letter. What really matters is that this writing routine is working for me. I’m pleased about that.

Honestly, walking away from writing was the best present I’ve given myself. It allowed me to wind down and then, when I was ready, to rebuild my energy levels from the bottom up. It has allowed me to view … everything … from a different angle. And it has given me inspiration and excitement where writing is concerned, which I haven’t felt for a very, very long time.

3 thoughts on “Mirrors, Cat's and Caves”

  1. You’re dead right. As well as being a writer I’ve been a Martial Arts Instructor and Personal Trainer for many years. In those fields something that I make a point of emphasising is that rest is an integral part of training. It’s as important as the training itself and nutrition and sleep. Time out is necessary for optimum performance and improvement. The same thing applies to intellectual pursuits as well as physical ones.

  2. I was debating the whole walking away thing in a forum this morning, where someone posted about writers block. People insist on just “writing through it” and it will go.

    It doesn’t work. It turns writing into a chore, it was only when I stopped getting stressed about not having written that day, that writing came to me screaming for attention.

  3. I’ve only just noticed your comment, Benjamin. My apologies for not replying sooner.

    Believe me, you should never force yourself to write. Never! I did it and ended up hating writing altogether. Writing is something that should always be done because you love it, because you want to. Never do it for any other reason.

Leave a Reply

