General:

Warning! Changes Ahead

I’m going to make changes to this website. I thought about changing the template, but after spending a couple of days looking at templates and messing about with them on a test site, I have decided to stick with this template as it has the features I want (with a bit of modification).

In the coming days, and possibly weeks, you might come here to find strange things happening. Don’t worry, it will all be for the greater good in the end.

I don’t think I’ll be posting much until after Christmas. So Merry Christmas to everyone and may 2008 be better than 2007.

Update (later the same day):

I have:

1. Upgraded to version 2.3.1.
2. Gotten rid of the “Read More” buttons so that the entries can be read without clicking to another page.
3. Included an excerpt in the search results.
4. Gone through the posts and deleted the nonsense ones (or the ones I found anyway).

Update (17 December 2007):

I have changed the navigation bar. Some of the pages created, however, are still under construction.

The blog is now called “Personal Diary”.

Update (18 December 2007):

The pages in the navigation bar are all functional. Now I have to change the index page to match.

I have hidden the categories for anything other than my personal posts in the sidebar of this “Diary”.

The “Recent Comments” only shows the comments made to posts that are in the category list in the sidebar. (Comments to general writing or history posts will not show in the list.)

Update (20 December 2007):

I’ve recoded the index page as I’ve never been entirely happy with it. Whilst it looked great in Firefox and the latest version of IE last night, it has a slight problem when I viewed it in IE6 today, so I’ll fix that problem tonight.

2 thoughts on “Warning! Changes Ahead”

Leave a Reply

