Mirror Image, My Writing:

The Horror and Unexpected Love

Mirror Image is based on a family and their emotions after the death of a son (it is a fictitious story and is not based on what has happened in my own family). Part 1 dealt with the family’s grief and how they coped with moving on with their life. Part 2 steps into something else altogether as it is the beginning of a horror thread that runs through the story.

I’ve never written horror before, but it used to be my preferred genre many years ago, so I’ve read a lot of it. Upon writing the first scene where the horror starts, the words kind of went crazy at the beginning. I found I could only write a few words at a time and then I’d have to do something else for a minute or two. Then, I got into the swing of it and I was away.

When I planned the story, I actually planned the horror thread as if it was a character. I found this approach gave me the why, how, when and where. This gave the whole thread more depth. Then, within the horror thread, I have a second story running parallel with the main plot. This second story is more two dimensional, but that’s the way it was planned, and the characters are vague, but that’s planned too. However, at the end, it will all make sense.

But that wasn’t all; I was also blessed with the arrival of an unplanned character. She put on her high heels, a short skirt and deep red lipstick and she walked right up to my MC’s older brother and introduced herself. He was rather taken with her and I have to say that so was I (but not for the same reasons 😉 ). This girl has style and confidence, and she is completely out there. She also has a soft side that will eventually get through to a grieving young man who is in need of love. Even a planned story can hold surprises and this was a surprise to me, but I can already see that the resolution for the character she has connected herself to will be more complete because of her.

Today, the horror began, but so did the love. That’s a wacky combination, but I believe they compliment each other and will give the story balance.

My NaNo Progess:

Today’s Word Count: 2,428

Mirror Image – 40% Complete

20,103 / 50,000

2 thoughts on “The Horror and Unexpected Love”

  1. I’ve been reading your blog for a few weeks and finally got around to starting my own blog to track my writing progress. I’m not doing NaNoWriMo but I admire people who do it. I can’t imagine sitting down and writing that many words in a day. As it stands with my own novel right now, I’m happy to get a thousand words out a day between schoolwork!

    I like the sounds of your story and good job. Keep up the good work!

  2. Thank you for posting, Aslera. And thank you for the encouragement. Writing so much is taking its toll, and I know I won’t continue on the way I am, but at least the first draft will be written…and it’s not a bad first draft at that. 😀

    It’s hard to balance everything in life sometimes, we just have to prioritise and do the best we can.

    Good luck with your writing and your website.

Leave a Reply

