Book Reviews, Books & Movies

Book Review: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
There are no spoilers in this post.

My eyes are so heavy. My mind is vague. I’m plodding along on the morning after, trying to work as normal and act somewhat human, but it’s difficult. I mustn’t complain though, because my condition is self inflicted. It was my choice to stay up and finish reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Book 7).

I had a choice: Put the book down right at the start of the climax and spend the night and all today wondering what was going to happen. Or, keep reading. I knew I had about an hour and a half of reading to go. I knew it would be well past midnight when I reached the last page and that is a very late night for me. I knew that I’d suffer today if I continued on with the adventure.

I put the book down. I got ready for bed. I said goodnight to my family and then…

I climbed into bed, picked up the book and continued to read. I had to know what was going to happen. I couldn’t wait another 24 hours. I knew I wouldn’t be able to sleep because of it, so I felt I may as well keep going. It’s what any normal person would have done…isn’t it? 😀

It was worth it.

Whilst young readers of Harry Potter were growing up as they read the books, J K Rowling was growing as a writer. She has done extremely well and, as a writer myself, I learned a lot from reading her series.

I especially admire Joanne’s ability to weave intricate threads together, giving hints throughout the entire series, and then pull everything together and leave the reader feeling satisfied. She did a marvellous job and she should feel proud of herself.

There is a lot of talk on the internet questioning Joanne’s ability and whether or not she’ll be able to produce something other than anything Harry Potter related. I truly hope that she can. I believe she has the ability to tell a good story. I just hope the public will give her a chance and not compare everything else she produces with Harry Potter. I realise it will be hard, but readers must open Joanne’s future books, especially the next one, with fresh eyes and an open mind.

Now that I’ve finished the Harry Potter series, I find myself looking at my own children’s series and feeling as if I must put more into it – more imagination, more excitement…and more of my time. I think that’s called inspiration.

Right, now I have to find someone to “chat” to, because I want to discuss the details of the book…

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows”

  1. Karen,

    I did the same thing Friday night and like you I really enjoyed it. I agree with your comments. It impressed me how she was able to pull in things from all the books leaving hints and such as she went along. This of course points to the power of planning or at least knowing where your story is going. As much as I look at the popularity of the HP series as being based on chance there is no question in my mind that she is a capable writer.

    Terry

  2. There should be some kind of Harry Potter support group. We could help those suffering sleep deprivation from reading too late, help people find something else to read once they’ve finished (Philip Pulman anyone?), offer succour to those writers with Rowling-envy (she’s a US$ billionaire you know. A BILLIONAIRE, for goodness sake!) 😉

    😉

  3. Terry, I’m a great believer in planning, as you know. I find myself looking at my series through different eyes now and that’s a good thing. I agree the success of Harry is chance…or excellent marketing.

    Alan, wouldn’t it be good to have a book sell that well? *nods*

Leave a Reply

