Books & Movies, General:, Personal

Going Potty

It seems the world has slipped into an anxious wait for the seventh, and hopefully final, book in the Potter series – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I’ve visited a few blogs today which have voiced an opinion on something Potter related. However, two of my regular haunts talked about two things I’d like to comment on here.

No, there are no spoilers to be found in this post…in case you’re wondering.

Alan Baxter asked if there should be more Harry Potter books. His opinion is quoted below:

The best stories are those that do end and leave us wanting more, rather than giving us so much that we become bored and wander off to look out the window.

I agree whole heartedly with this statement. We don’t need to know any more. We don’t need to read about how the story began, ie the prequel, because we already know and we don’t need spin offs telling us the inside story from other character’s point of view or what happens to them afterwards, ie Hermione & Ron.

Whilst I love the Harry Potter stories, I do believe that J K Rowling should listen to her gut and stop at Book 7, as she always planned. However, I think Rowling’s agent and publisher will urge her to write more. They will only be hearing the sound of cash registers collecting more money for them. They will not be thinking of what’s best for the series and that’s why I truly hope that Rowling is strong enough to say no.

The other comment was made by Struggling Writer who asked:

What are the chances I’ll be able to read this book without having the ending spoiled?

This is something I’ve asked myself too. I think the chances are slim, but there’s no harm in hoping that people will be nice enough to clearly mark posts in forums, groups, blogs and websites with a spoiler notice.

Some people plan to read Book 7 before the end of the weekend (the book is due to be released on Saturday, 21 July 2007). Even if I got my copy of the book on that day, there’s no way I’d be able to finish it within a week. I read too slow. It’s more likely that I’ll still be reading the book in August and I, like everyone else, would like to find out for myself what happens to Harry and his friends. I don’t want other people telling me before then.

My plan of attack is to NOT read anything that is marked with any keyword that leads me to believe it (meaning posts, websites, emails) might be a spoiler. It was because of a “leak” on Book 6 that I disabled signatures on my message board – it’s difficult to ignore one sentence that tells all and is in bold; it’s also very nasty and selfish. I was furious when this happened and I let the person know it too. If you read the book and write a review, that’s fine, but please tell the reader there will be spoilers long before you give anything away.

There is only four days until Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows comes out. Do you have a copy reserved? If not, will you attempt to buy it on the day anyway? Or, will you be hiding under a rock until the world settles down again?

6 thoughts on “Going Potty”

  1. Thanks for the link. I do have my copy reserved but will be out of town so I won’t see it until next week.

    On your first point, I think she should stop the series with book 7 at least for a while (I’m talking 5-10 years). I’m also interested in what she could come up with that isn’t Harry Potter related though that might be tough for her to pull off.

  2. I’ve found that I can read one sequel to a book. After that, my interest wanes. In contrast, my youngest son has devoured every one of her books and is looking forward to the latest.

    Strugglingwriter makes an interesting point about Rowling writing outside of the Harry Potter vein. I’m curious to see how the public receives her new books.

    Stephen King encountered this problem when he veered away from horror with his book Dragon’s Eyes and even the Dark Tower Series. His fans were so used to reading his horror stories that they didn’t want to read anything else.

  3. I have my copy reserved and intend to pick it up the moment it comes out, but don’t worry, while I may discuss the book on my blog, there won’t be any spoilers! You can visit my blog in safety! I’m still wondering if I’ll be able to read it fast enough for it not to be spoiled by the media.

    Like Struggling Writer, I’m also interested in what J. K. Rowling writes next that isn’t Harry Potter related. I wonder if she could pull off a second, completely different series so successfully? I’m not up for any more Harry books though. It’s time to call it a day after this one!

  4. I was in town today and popped into K-Mart. Sold out. I went to Dymocks. Sold out. I went to Barnes & Nobel. They obviously had some left as the queue there was probably a hundred people long. So I went home without it. The only reason I looked to get a copy today was because I want to read it for myself, as you mention in your post, without it being spoiled.

    I’ll be in town again tomorrow and perhaps the queues will be shorter. I can read quickly, so I can finish it in a couple of days if I can get hold of a copy. Otherwise, like you, dear Scribe, I’m counting on the good nature of the various media out there not to spoil it for me. We’ll see.

    I’m looking forward to the day when Harry Potter is a far less frenetic phenomenon. However, at least we can say to our grandchildren as we pass the books on to them, “I was there. I refused to queue for an hour to get this book!”

    Thanks for the link.

  5. I’ve been wondering if J K Rowling can write something else too. I’d imagine she’d be under a lot of pressure to do so, but whether the fans of Harry will allow anything different to be as successful…who knows?!?

    Marti, it’s fine not to read the books. We wouldn’t hurt you for admitting something like that. Not much, anyway. 😀

Leave a Reply

