Books and Things

There was me thinking my books from Amazon were bobbing across the ocean to me, when in actual fact they were jet setting across instead. Yesterday, I heard a thumping on the front door. Honestly, I thought the end of the world was upon us and everyone was being asked to evacuate, the thumping was that loud and urgent, but it was only the delivery man with my bundle of books. I say bundle because it sounds good, but there were only two – No Plot? No Problem!: A Low-Stress, High-Velocity Guide to Writing a Novel in 30 Days by Chris Baty and Storm Front (The Dresden Files, Book 1) by Jim Butcher. They took a little over a week to reach me and I look forward to reading them both.

On Tuesday, we went to an Op Shop and I picked up a book called Left Behind: A Novel of the Earth’s Last Days (Left Behind #1) by Tim F. LaHaye and Jerry B Hawkins. It was the tag line that got me interested – A Novel of the Earth’s Last Days – as I’ve always been interested in this topic. When we got home, Gary told me it was a Christian book. Hmm, that is fine as long as it’s not preachy. I can’t stand preachy! If so, I’ll throw it in a corner. However, I simply hope to enjoy a story that might have religious undertones. I’ll be fine with that.

I’ve been on holiday for a week (it will be 10 days to be exact) and it’s rained just about the entire time. Although I’m about ready to say I’ll be glad to see the sun again, I feel selfish for thinking this as we need every drop of rain we can get. Our dam has gone from 32% to 51% in three weeks. That’s terrific news. The farmers are smiling for the first time in a long time and they are looking forward to a great supply of crops this spring.

The sun did come out today. As overcast and especially rainy days depress my mum I told her the bright sunlight was a special birthday present especially for her. That made her laugh. She seemed pleased and said she was happy just to know the sun still existed. Then we laughed and thought about the countries where winter means dismal grey skies for many long months. We forget how lucky we really are.

During the bleak weather I’ve spent many hours scanning my photos. As I mentioned in a comment, I’ve finally got a system happening where I’m speeding through the pages. Well, using the word “speeding” seems wrong, but I am going much faster now. This morning, I picked up all my parent’s photos. *sigh* There are so many of them. I think I’ll be scanning photos for the rest of my life…longer, maybe. 😀

Now, it’s back to the scanner…

6 thoughts on “Books and Things

  1. I haven’t been to your site in years. I love the new layout, and the picture is cool. Very professional looking.

    I also just ordered three books from Amazon. They are really quick, and the delivery was free. Not convinced I like it though. I like to hold a book before I buy it.

    I find myself going into a shop, browsing the books, then planning my online purchases.

  2. Paul, I’m the same. When the parcel arrived, it was like an early Christmas present even though I knew what was inside.

    Deborah, I’ve read a couple of chapters now and so far it’s been fine, but I’ll give a proper review when I’ve finished.

    Chris, thank you for visiting again. I have to admit that I’m like you, I do like holding the book and flipping through the pages before I part with my money. But this was a good experience and it turned out that they weren’t overpriced (even with the shipping charge) as books are cheaper in the USA.

  3. Scribe, you should brace yourself. If you want to read the Left Behind series, you’re up for at least twelve books. The whole thing is a massive exercise in Christian marketing! I can’t say anything about the stories, as I haven’t read any of them, but the machine behind them puts me off. Check out leftbehind.com and you’ll get an idea of where I’m coming from!

  4. I doubt I’ll read more than this one book. It’s interesting, but too political for me. And there was me thinking I’d think it was too religious!

Leave a Reply

