Purchasing Books Online

It’s something I’ve never done…purchase books online…until now. I always buy them when I see them, and that is usually when I see them in op shops, not book stores. However, I’ve wanted to get my hands on two books that I’ve never seen in Australia (admittedly, I never got around to asking about them at the counter so it doesn’t mean they are unavailable here).

A few days ago, I stumbled across Storm Front (The Dresden Files, Book 1) by Jim Butcher on Amazon and decided to splurge out and buy myself a present. I don’t do it often. Then I thought, “why not look for the other book I want and save on shipping” (whether or not I did I don’t actually know, but the reasoning sounded good at the time). Within thirty seconds I found the other book – No Plot? No Problem!: A Low-Stress, High-Velocity Guide to Writing a Novel in 30 Days by Chris Baty – and within a few more minutes I had made the purchase and the books have now been shipped to me.

When I say shipped, I probably mean exactly that, which means the books will bounce slowly across the ocean for about…let me see, two months! Never mind, I’ve got a lot of other things to keep me busy in that time, so I don’t mind. Now Gary is pestering me to get a copy of Wounded Male by Steven Farmer. I guess he deserves a present for no reason too, so that will be my second experience of buying books online.

Have you purchased books – or anything else – online? What have been your experiences? What are your favourite sites?

6 thoughts on “Purchasing Books Online

  1. I’ve been buying books online a bit more in the past years. Mostly I buy them on Amazon.com. I usually pick up the used books. I have picked some really good stuff for only a few dollars. Of course I don’t have to pay for shipping to Australia, so this may be different for you.

  2. I shop online all the time, mostly with Amazon. In the decade I’ve been shopping online, I’ve only had two unsatisfactory experiences (broken items).

  3. I remember you buying On Writing Horror, Benjamin. I’m so glad you feel it was worth it.

    Paul, I have to pay postage and that’s why I probably won’t buy many books online. It’s cheaper to order them through the bookstore and wait the eternity for them to come in.

    Deborah, I’m glad to hear you haven’t had many nasty surprises. That’s one thing that would definitely put me off buying online again.

  4. I buy regularly from Amazon. It’s also the best place to find my novel. 😉 I think Amazon is one of the best inventions of our time.

    And don’t worry, Scribe – Amazon’s great and those books will be with you in a week or two!

Leave a Reply

