Books & Movies, General:, My Writing:, Other Projects

A Four Day Plan

I went under the hood of Now Reading and worked out how to get rid of that solid disc beside the image. I also fixed the spacing and highlighted heading so that the page is easier, and more pleasant, to look at. The image in the sidebar is now centred so that looks better also. Making these changes was simple…once I worked out which documents to mess with. Of course, I did make copies first, just in case I ruined everything. 😉

What else have I been doing? I’m so glad you asked.

Actually, the only things I’ve been doing in the past week or so is coding for this website and reading Illusion by Paula Volsky (I do love that story). However, I think it’s time for me to do something more. I have a week and a half left of part time work before I have a week of holidays. And then…I go back to work full time. (Karen tries to think positive thoughts to keep from getting depressed.)

My goals for the immediate future – let us say the next four days – is to get back into writing. Since the two recent submissions, I’ve fallen into a slump, but that has to end now (well, make that tomorrow).

Guards’ Mustering needs a new ending. I have edited the rest of the story and added a couple of extra scenes, but the end isn’t right. I’ve known the end was weak for some time, so I’ve had plenty of time to think about it and now I have to put those thoughts into words. This weekend will see that happen.

I also, and I’m ashamed to admit this, need to submit Amulet of Kemet to another market. I promised myself that I’d do this within a few days of the rejection, but to date, I’ve done nothing about that. The story needs no work; it’s just a matter of finding the right market. I will put that on my “to do” list for this Friday.

That means I’ve made two public goals for the next four days:

1. Write a new ending for Guards’ Mustering.
2. Submit Amulet of Kemet to an appropriate market.

I feel better already. There’s nothing like public goals to get the inspiration going.

2 thoughts on “A Four Day Plan”

  1. Isn’t it funny how we use a method like that to MAKE ourselves work. We sure are great at procrastination, us writer types. 😉

  2. Most definitely. Sometimes I wonder if this writing business is really for me because of my “methods”, but then things happen which proves that I couldn’t do without it.

Leave a Reply

