My Submissions, My Writing:

Frustrated Writers' Program

Today I will post my submission – Cat’s Eyes – to the 2007 Frustrated Writers’ Mentoring Program. This program is open to residents of NSW in Australia only. There are three categories – senior, young adult and junior. Naturally, I’ll be entering the senior section.

The program is run by The Children’s Book Council of Australia and they are only interested in manuscripts written for children and young adults. Luckily for me Cat’s Eyes falls into the guidelines, as do I as the author.

First prize is being partnered with a published author who will provide lots of help to improve the manuscript and get it to a publishing standard, as well as giving insider information into the publishing industry. There is also a moderate amount of prize money to help with expenses. When the mentorship has been completed, a mainstream publisher will read the finished manuscript and provide an in-depth appraisal. As winner of this program, there is a higher possibility that the publisher may want to publish the manuscript, but this is not a guarantee.

The deadline is 11 June 2007 and I don’t expect to hear from them for at least three months.

2 thoughts on “Frustrated Writers' Program”

  1. Thank you for telling me about it, Helen. I agree that this is a great opportunity. I’m eager to hear the response from the publisher for your submission (as I’m sure you are too).

Leave a Reply

