Taking a Breather

After a three day marathon rewrite of my latest short story, I’ve decided to give myself a two day much deserved break. I probably wrote for a period of, at least, 24 hours in those three days. I rewrote the first two thirds of the story and edited the remaining third, but the results were worth it. However, it’s still not ready!

Not only has this project shown me that I can come up with ideas under pressure, it has also proven that I can buckle down (the seat belt–to stop me moving about and procrastinating) and put the hours in that are required to get the job finished. Yes, I have floundered and I have doubted my ability, but I’ve managed to push those negatives aside. I’m proud of that.

This project has done something else for me too. It has shown my family that I’m serious and that someone in the publishing world has taken me seriously enough to invite me to write the story in the first place. This has boosted my confidence.

At this stage, I must mention my association with two people who have stood behind me and pushed me all the way. Sasha, a writing friend come editor, has swapped countless emails with me over the last two weeks. She has shown me what it would be like to work closely with another person to produce the best story I can. That experience has been wonderful. Gary, my partner, has supported me by supplying feedback, encouragement and endless cups of tea. He has also ensured I’ve had the writing time I need and his is the voice ordering me to get back to work when I try to slacken off.

I have a good story, but now I have to make it great!

6 thoughts on “Taking a Breather

  1. Congrats on putting the hard work in.

    I can relate to the confidence you must get when your family believes in you. But its your hard work and commitment that is the thing that convinces them that you’re serious – I need to do that.

  2. Thank you everyone for your support. My apologies for the delay in replying, I’ve been too busy to visit any of my internet haunts, including my own websites.

Leave a Reply

