2. The King's Riddle, General:, My Writing:, Suicide: A Mother's Story

Reflections on Blogging

Blogging, when we first start it, is addictive. Instead of writing or planning a story, we spend much of the day writing and planning our next post in our heads. There’s so much to say and not enough time to say it.

Or so we think.

As the days turn into weeks, and the weeks turn into months and the months turn into years, we find we do get to say everything that needs to be said. Suddenly, blogging is no longer addictive. In fact, it can be a chore at times. Yet we still try to post once a day, even if that post is complete dribble. In the back of our heads, something is saying a silly post is better than no post.

But is it really?

I’ve been to other bloggers websites and usually don’t bother reading the dribble. I don’t have time and I don’t find dribble worthwhile reading. I’m sure other bloggers come to this site and ignore my dribble too. I understand that. So why do we insist on putting it on our websites?

I’ve been blogging for three years and I’ve had websites that I continually updated for two years before that. I’ve said what needs to be said. I could give daily updates on my writing, but who wants to read that every day (although I know of one website where the writer does exactly that and she has a lot of traffic to her blog each day – thing is, she’s published and she occasionally throws in some valuable information too).

After my recent (and continuing) need to go through the archives and re-categorise all the posts, this need to post – no matter what the content – really became clear to me and I’ve decided not to do it any more. If I have nothing to say, then I won’t post. You’ve probably noticed the decline in posts over recent weeks. This trend will continue. I believe quality should over ride quantity and that will be my aim from now on.

An Update on My Writing Projects

On Saturday I mentioned the possibility of finishing the edit on Cat’s Paw on Sunday. It didn’t happen. The last two chapters need too much work. Actually, they are poorly written and I think I’ll have to rewrite them from scratch.

The non-fiction project – working title Crumbling Walls – is still in planning. After extensive research I have changed the title to Suicide: A Mother’s Story. I think everyone will agree that the new title gives the reader a clear idea of what to find in the book without reading any further, whereas Crumbling Walls could be about anything. I intend to start writing this book when work on Cat’s Paw has been completed.

4 thoughts on “Reflections on Blogging”

  1. Yeah, I’ve cut out the dribble on my own blog without even noticing. But, I kind of want to get back to the political dribble that got me into blogging in the first place, just not pointless rants about why I didn’t write today.

  2. I’m rarely home anymore, so I don’t have much time for reading or writing! Blogging should be pleasurable though, so do what feels right!

    Still recovering from death and illness here. I have a day home so I am trying to say hello to my Internet friends! Hope all is well with you and you have a wonderful day!

  3. Thanks for the support, everyone.

    I’m still in grief too, Marti, and I think that has a lot to do with my changing attitudes. The things that used to be important, no longer are.

Leave a Reply

