Thinking Ahead

If I am successful in writing my Mini-NaNo in November, and there’s no reason (as yet) why I shouldn’t be, book 2 will be completed in it’s first draft. At that time, being December, this will give me the perfect reason to put the manuscript to one side until early 2007 and catch up on the other things that I’d normally be doing on a week-to-week or day-to-day basis during November.

Leaving the manuscript until 2007 before I start editing is perfect. It couldn’t work out better. And if I really do find time to fit in writing during that time, then I will finish planning book 3. It’s strange, a month ago, both books 2 and 3 were nothing more than a vague thought and now they are becoming a reality. I find that amazing.

NaNo is going well for me so far. I’ve managed to reach my daily word count. However, now that I’m heading swiftly towards the “middle” section of the story, I’m finding that the flow is slowing down considerably. I know what needs to happen and where I’m heading, but I don’t know exactly how I’m going to get there. This type of planning allows for creativity whilst writing, which means there’s no chance I can become bored with the story.

I did manage to gag the editor. It took some doing, but persistence on my part won out in the end. Of course, this will mean my first draft will be rougher than normal, but they say “a change is as good as a holiday” and I’m willing to see how things pan out.

Talking about holidays…it’s Christmas soon. Have you started planning your day, buying your presents, organising your family? I’m thinking about it, and that’s as good as it will get for now. šŸ˜€

Must run. I have words to write…835 of them.

Leave a Reply

