Go!

And I’m away! 835 words a day doesn’t sound like much, but it’s enough for me. I wrote the first 300 words in fifteen minutes, that’s because I’ve spent four days thinking about the opening and I couldn’t wait to get the words down, but the other 500 odd words took a couple of hours.

I tried to lock the editor in the cellar. I really did. I used heavy duty chains and enormous padlocks. Then I put everything in the garage on top of the door, just to be sure. And for good measure, I blocked the vents. But that editor is one wise soul. Nothing will shut the brutal thing away. No amount of will power could stop me from reading back over what I’ve already written. As I typed, I kept telling myself “just type, don’t edit”, but the editor sat on my shoulder laughing.

“Hey, there’s a typo,” the voice would yell at me.

“You call yourself a writer? Look at that last sentence you just wrote. It’s awful.”

“What are you doing? You’re killing this story with those words.”

In the end, I gave in…and edited. It certainly shut that crazy voice in my head up, and I have to admit that I felt a lot happier because of it.

Anyway, day one is over. I have 905 words down. Now the question is, can I do this for another 29 days?

Leave a Reply

