Books & Movies

The Fog, Hagwitch and False Impression

With less than two hours sleep last night, I’m moving through a day of fog. My mind is sluggish at best, my eyes are blurry, and my stomach…you don’t want to know! I’m not sure if I’ll make it through the day (at work).

I remember thinking during the night, “this is an all-nighter without actually getting anything done”, and then squeezing my eyes shut and hoping for sleep to find me. It didn’t. I guess I’ll be having an early night tonight. It’s Friday, I like staying up late on Friday night.

Anyway, at the beginning of the week, I finished reading Ellie and the Hagwitch by Helen Cresswell. It wasn’t a bad story, but it didn’t do much for me either. I think it was because the story was too much like a fairy tale. You know, “Once upon a time…” and “…they lived happily ever after”. Not my thing at all. However, the author did impress me with how she brought everything to a clear close, even what happened to the poor cat in the story. It was a good reminder for “make everything count” and, as a writer, I appreciated a good example of that.

My next reading attempt will be an adult book. Shock, horror! Gary has False Impression by Jeffrey Archer sitting on the shelf. I’ve read one of Archer’s books – As The Crow Flies – which kept my interest from page one to the last word. False Impression sounds interesting so I’ll see how I react to this book and then I’ll share that reaction with you.

Leave a Reply

