2. The King's Riddle, My Writing:

Mini NaNoWriMo

Following a tiny push from Terry, I’ve decided to throw caution to the wind and sign up (in theory) for a Mini NaNoWriMo. In other words, I will not be registering as an official participant and I will not be aiming for 50,000 words in 30 days, but I will be in the shadows bashing away at the keyboard with the hope of reaching a predetermined word count.

What is that predetermined word count, I hear you ask. Well, I’m glad you asked. Whilst most NaNoers will be attempting to reach 1667 words a day, I will powering towards a huge daily count of 835 words.

Sounds dead simple, but I bet it’s not.

Anyway, this means that my planning must be completed by 31 October, which means I have…a total of 12 days! Eek! I better stop talking about writing, and start planning so that I can actually write.

Hang on, I haven’t finished the post yet.

At 10am this morning I opened the three sentences (of the five I need) for step 3 of Snowflake. I just have to write two more sentences to complete the picture for the plot. Over three hours later, I haven’t written a single word. The fifth sentence will be easy to write because it will show how I intend to resolve the problems presented to my characters, but the fourth sentence is proving to be quite difficult. This is telling me that I have something missing, but my mind won’t stay on track long enough to figure out what that is.

I need to ask myself a lot of questions. Problem is I can’t do this at work because I should be working, not writing (or planning). However, because I’m not sleeping well, I feel exhausted in the evening and my brain just shuts down altogether then. As the day creeps on I can already feel this shutdown starting to happen. This leaves me in a bind. Maybe I should get up earlier, but then I’d miss out on the tiny amount of sleep I am getting.

Maybe I’ve made the wrong decision about doing a Mini NaNoWriMo. No, I want to do this, so I will find a way to keep the mind awake and alert (here are some hints, but I wouldn’t recommend taking medications). I’m determined to find a natural way to get my brain in top gear.

Leave a Reply

