2. The King's Riddle, My Writing:

When Every Word Counts

You may find this difficult to believe, but I’m proud of the writing I’ve done in the last three days. However, I would like to mention that I’ve only written three sentences.

Just about every writing site I’ve visited, since I discovered the internet, has told me one thing – make every word count. All writers know (and if you didn’t know this, you do now) that every sentence, every paragraph, every scene must make the plot move forward. If it doesn’t, then delete it. Delete it now!

Today, I finally started reading the book that has been highlighted in my sidebar as “currently reading” for about two weeks now – Green for Danger by Emily Rodda. There were several chapters where I thought, “what’s all this in here for. She could have edited all this out.” However, in later chapters I discovered why it was there so that was fine. But I almost got to the stage where I wanted to write to Ms Rodda and ask why she didn’t understand and follow this simple rule in writing. Good job I didn’t act too hastily. 😉

Anyway, back to my three sentences. It sounds pretty bad – three sentences in three days. Actually, it might be some kind of a record. But seriously, these three sentences were the hardest I’ve ever had to write. You see, in this case, “make every word count” took on a new meaning. The three sentences are a cryptic message for my children’s book. Each sentence has two clues, but I had to make the clues hard to spot. Then, when the three sentences are put together, there is another clue.

Problem was…I didn’t start out knowing what the message had to read or what the clues were referring to. I had to figure that out as I went along. Now that I’m finished, I have discovered that the entire plot for book 2 makes more sense overall. It’s all much clearer in my mind. And now…after all the informal planning I’ve done this week…I can start working through the Snowflake steps. *grins* You thought I’d already started doing that, didn’t you? Well, how can I do step 1 (write a one-sentence summary of your story) if I don’t even know what the story is going to be about?

Now I have a story planned in point form, instead of a vague idea, I’ll be able to write that one-sentence summary. I wonder if it will take me another three days?!?

Leave a Reply

