1. The Land of Miu, My Writing:

Goodbye Scene

Chapter 11 turned out to be a real “stopper” – as in stop writing or editing. The chapter was awful.

I remember the feedback on that chapter, and everyone said the same thing. “I hate that scene, it’s so boring.” Alright, I admit that they didn’t actually use those words, but they may as well have. It was boring, even I know it. It had to go.

I considered my options:

1. Just delete it and move on.

2. Try to fix it and make it not boring.

3. Replace it with something better.

After much thought, I’ve decided to go with option 3.

Another complaint I had was that being in the tunnels all this time was becoming boring. This was a bigger problem, because this world is underground and I didn’t know what to do about that. However, four months ago I found a book with images that suited my purpose and would solve this problem. I’m going to incorporate what I see in these drawings into the new scene that I plan to write. It will be a challenge, but I think it will be worthwhile all round. I started that scene last night and hope to finish it this weekend.

Leave a Reply

