General:, Personal

Time Travel

Lee Pletzers posted his, and his wife’s, thoughts on Time Travel. This is what they think:

If you travel 20 years into the future from say, March 11th 2006, then you will no longer exist in this timeline. You have just jumped into the future. From March 2006 until March 2026, you won’t exist. So how can you see yourself?

My wife disputes this theory of mine. She says you will see yourself in the future because you have to go back to March 2006 and live your life.

Lee says, “But until you do that, you won’t exist in that timeline. And what if you decide to stay in March 2026? For 20 years, you vanished.”

I can see both sides of the arguement, but deep down I think Lee is on target with his statement because until you do return to the present, you have stopped existing between 2006 and 2026. Hmmm, the more I think about the more I agree with Lee.

Moving on, if time travel was a possibility would you want to discover how your life turns out? I wouldn’t.

I might discover something terrible ie my books never see the light of day. At the moment, I’m happily plodding along doing what has to be done in order to get published. However, if I suddenly discovered that my efforts would never pay off, what would I do?

1. I could change tactics. There’s nothing to say that if I go about things differently, pay the professionals to help me, and do courses to better myself that things wouldn’t change. However, the real future would know that I’ve paid a visit, which would mean that making changes doesn’t mean squat.

2. I could do myself a favour and stop trying to get published.

And if I was convinced that I could not make a difference to my future self by making changes when I got back from the future, I think I’d go with number 2. Why put all that effort in, if it was never going to lead to anything. I’d continue to write, but not in the same way I am now. I’d abandon the publishing dream and get a life instead. Either way, I could be a winner!

For the record: I would never travel to my future to find out these things. I don’t want to know. Now, another time in the future, way after I’m dead and buried, might be a different matter.

Leave a Reply

