Personal

Diet: First Day

Don’t worry, I’m not going to give you a daily report. How depressing would that be?

Today is the first day of the diet. Usually, I go through the day and don’t give food a thought but today has been different. Today, food has been on my mind continually. I know it’s because I’m not allowed to eat, so I want to, and I also know that this will pass.

The good news is that Gary has decided to join me in my quest to shed kilos. As he’s a heart patient, he should eat healthy but he’s fallen into bad habits over recent years and has decided that if we both diet together, we’ll both end up with good eating habits again. His weight is 94kg.

We went and bought lots of salad, but only what’s on the “allowed” list – lettuce, cucumber, tomato, alfalfa, sno peas, mushrooms and other stuff that we don’t usually buy. We have to eat two pieces of fruit per day too – apples, oranges, strawberries, prunes, and the list goes on. We didn’t find the meal replacement particularly filling, but that will change over time, as our stomachs shrink. I’m craving a cup of tea, and am battling to get the two litres of water into me.

For dinner tonight, I will have minute steak while Gary will have scotch fillet steak, and we’ll both have lots of salad. We can have vegetables too, but our weather dictates what we eat but we’ll probably look for something more substantial tomorrow, so I had better buy some vegetables – brocolli, cauliflower, beans, cabbage, but not a lot of carrot or corn. It seems green is good; orange and yellow are bad.

In other news: I finished Resident Evil 4. 😀

Leave a Reply

