Serving It Up

My mind goes over many things during the cause of the day, and today was no exception. We were having a late lunch, and I found myself wondering how servers work so thought I’d post this message in the hope that someone will enlighten me.

How does a person connect their own server to the internet? I feel quite certain that if anyone could just plug in a server and be online then the service providers would be out of work, so that tells me that there is a fee involved. I pay to be connected to the internet, I get webspace (a lot of it, with unlimited bandwidth) but I can’t upload software like WordPress which means I also pay for webhosting where I can upload the software. Maybe I’m paying too much the way I’m going about it and need to look at alternatives.

What’s the benefit of having your own server? How does it all work?

Leave a Reply

