Books & Movies, Personal

Birthday Books

Lunch was wonderful. We joked and laughed, and ate until our bellies were at bursting point. Then, we were thrown out of the restaurant (with a smile). First in, last to leave – that doesn’t happen often.

I received some lovely presents. Among them was Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (Book 6). I’m in no hurry to read this book because book seven will take a couple of years to be released. I have the set and have read the others and will read this book sometime in the next two years. There’s no hurry.

Charlotte’s Web by E B White was really good. Why didn’t I read this as a child? I have no idea but I’ve made up for that now. There was some head hopping which I found annoying but when I did manage to turn off the internal editor, I discovered a wonderful story about talking farm animals which was refreshing to read. The reader learns a lot about the habits of spiders while reading this story and there is one scene which left me feeling especially sad. If you have children, get this book and read it to them. You’ll both enjoy the time spent together and the story.

This afternoon, after my nap from being full to the brim 😉 , I started reading Dealing with Dragons: The Enchanted Forest Chronicles, Book One by Patricia C Wrede. This is another set of books I’ve never read and although I’m only 35 pages into the book, I like it. It takes the traditional fairy story elements and twists them around. It’s well written too, so I think I’m in for a treat.

Now, I have some writing to do…

Leave a Reply

