Writing Habits, Writing:

What is Writer's Block?

Writer’s block is an inability to write. It’s when the words refuse to flow but it doesn’t mean the writer doesn’t have ideas. I believe it’s a mental thing, a loss of confidence or direction.

This is what Philip Pullman has to say about it:

I don’t believe in it. All writing is difficult. The most you can hope for is a day when it goes reasonably easily. Plumbers don’t get plumber’s block, and doctors don’t get doctor’s block; why should writers be the only profession that gives a special name to the difficulty of working, and then expects sympathy for it?

You have to admit that he has a point and when you look at it in this way, the dreaded writer’s block doesn’t seem so bad.

4 thoughts on “What is Writer's Block?”

  1. I’ve read Pullman’s comment before and I have never agreed with it. I think he has the definition of writer’s block wrong – it’s not the difficulty of working, or in this case writing.

    Writer’s Block is just misunderstood.

    Writer’s block is when our conscious mind – that critical and analytical part of our brain – gets in the way of our subconscious mind – the creative and free-flowing part of our brain that speaks in images and symbols. After all, the subconscious is where our stories are birthed.

    I have step-by-step instruction on how to unlock the subconscious on my blog and eliminate writer’s block. I hope it helps for anyone who runs into writer’s block.

    Happy writing, everyone!!

    That’s my two pence…
    Arial 😉

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Arial. I read your post and found it to be interesting. I might even “walk through the door” on the next day I find writing difficult. 😀

  3. GREAT! Please let me know when you do! I’d love to hear about your experience. I’ve really enjoyed hearing from my writer friends who have tried these techniques and the great experiences they’re having!

Leave a Reply

