Planning a Chapter Book

Following my research for writing chapter books for children aged 8 to 12 (middle grade), I’ve been writing a rough plan for the story to help get the details right.

I’ll be aiming for approximately 30,000 words in total.

The first quarter of the book is planned. It’s exciting to see things fall into place and doing it the way I have has helped me develop the main character, and has given me hints as to what the supporting character will be like.

Flashes of the final scene have been interrupting my thought process but I see this as a good thing because it means I know where I’m heading.

The middle isn’t doing much…actually nothing’s coming to me. A good dose of brain storming is needed or maybe it will need a bit more simmering in the back of my mind. I’ll see what happens over the next few days.

Meanwhile, I’m starting to put together character profiles and I have part of the opening scene already written. Yay!

Leave a Reply

