Update: Flash Fiction

A few days ago I mentioned that I’m trying my hand at flash fiction and that I had three stories outlined. One of those outlines is now a proper flash piece.

I needed a bit of encouragement with the piece though, as it’s not generally what I write, so I sent the story through to the AFWD Crit Group to see what the reaction would be.

The reaction was pleasing. Actually, it was inspiring. The women of the group said it touched them and that the words were powerful. The men had a problem with pacing, but could not deny the emotional side of the story. I agree with the pacing issue and will work on that.

The comments and suggestions given to me by these wonderful people will help me improve the story before I send it out. This one is definitely a “womens piece” so I will focus on women’s magazines to start with.

Leave a Reply

