Marlinor Archives, My Writing:

Fantasy World Names

Yesterday I discovered that there’s an online fantasy game which uses the same name as my fantasy world. The fact that the fantasy game’s name describes the land is even more disturbing, because should my novel be published I wouldn’t want anyone to think I stole the name even though I’ve been using it for over 10 years and well before the internet existed.

So what do I do?

I considered changing the name but felt loathe to do so because I haven’t stolen anything and why should I change something that means so much to me?

But then…I came up with another thought (which is dangerous). A few weeks ago, I gave my fantasy world a complete new history. At the time, I never gave the names of the two kingdoms a thought but perhaps this is the time to think on that.

I’ve already got some ideas running around in my mind so I will give this some thought and let you know what I decide to do.

2 thoughts on “Fantasy World Names”

  1. im writing a book but i have no idea what to call that world and i need to have a name to be able to carry on with my book. ive tried every where but still have no idea.

    could you help me find a name

  2. Only you can decide on the name, Imogen, but it doesn’t have to be a hard decision. You could just call is World for now (and maybe a better name will come to you later on), so that you can keep writing, but I think you need to create your world more thoroughly before you continue.

    There are plenty of websites offering help with world building. Find one that asks lots of questions and answer them all. Build a proper world and then put your people in it.

    If you only need help with a name, then try searching for a fantasy name generator and take some time out to see what names are offered. You might see something you like, but then again you might see something that sparks even better ideas.

    Good luck.

Leave a Reply

